Garden to Table – Spring Inspired

It’s arrived! The first harvest of the year that gets all of us so excited; so that we pull something when it is a bit smaller than we normally would just to say we have (I did this over the weekend with my radishes).  This was also in part to a radish inspired snack that I had spotted in a few places that I was dying to try.  My parsley reserve from last year is gone so I’m looking forward to getting some added back in my smoothies as a natural detoxifier, and those chives blossoms are going to be ready to toss in salads and make into vinegar’s very soon as well.  Other items I’ve heard from other gardeners are radiccio, arugula and greens; salad time!

Goat cheese and fresh herbs are meant to go together, often with a bottle of wine and a few friends (I’ve got an out of control oregano plant right now to go along with a crazy electric hair chive plant, and some second year parsley).

Here are a few suggestions to keep your meals and snacks garden inspired.

Perfect Bite: Radishes and Peanut Butter-this tastes as good as it looks and has become my new favourite snack (although I did it without butter for food intolerance reasons)

Chive Blossom Vinegar – here is one of numerous recopies that can be found on-line

Radish & Asparagus Salad – this is inspiration for my next must try salad

Radicchio, Pear and Arugula Salad – this one looks fantastic as well

Let us know about your favourite spring inspired garden recipe.

Next Week: May in the Garden

One thought on “Garden to Table – Spring Inspired

Leave a Reply

